Jazz Store
Guest List
Links
Home
























Practice Journal

8/19/06 (Saturday)
Here is the same pattern as below in the next six keys.
 
8/14/06 (Monday)
Here is another pattern built off of fourths. The first four note grouping was derived from C, F, Bb, Eb and played out of order to create this sequence. Then next grouping moves down a whole step and the cycle repeats itself after going through 6 keys. Each 4 note grouping is in a dominant 7th tonality.
 
8/11/06 (Friday)
I am still using the same fourths idea but starting on the third inversion of the sequence and working through all 12 keys. For instance, the first four note sequence starts on F, but was built starting on G, then C, F, and Bb. I put it in the key of F since it sounds more in this tonality.
 
8/9/06 (Wednesday)
Building on the fourths idea the next note to add in is Bb. So this idea built on fourths has G, C, F, and Bb.
 
8/6/06 (Sunday)
I just started working on fourth exercises. This one uses G, C, and F and I play it through the range of the instrument.
 
8/1/06 (Tuesday)
This is the whole chromatic exercise demonstrated through out the previous weeks in 3 octaves.
 
7/30/06 (Sunday)
Here are some exercises that go in between the tonic and tritone or b5 progression of the key.
 
7/27/06 (Thursday)
This chromatic pattern starts with a half step lead in to each major triad.
 
7/26/06 (Wednesday)
Here are some chromatic patterns in triplets.
 
7/24/06 (Monday)
Another variation on these chromatic patterns.
 Listen
 
7/20/06 (Thursday)
Now I have combined the past two ascending and descending chromatic patterns.
 Listen
 
7/19/06 (Wednesday)
Here is the same idea as the example I was working on 7/17, except I am now approaching the exercise in an ascending pattern.
 Listen
 
7/17/06 (Monday)
This chromatic sequence I worked on starts on the root note of each chord, moves to the fifth, and descends a half step to the fifth of the next chord down to the root.
 Listen
 
7/15/06 (Saturday)
Worked on sequencing a lick and moving the pattern up in 1/2 step increments. I started out with a simple pattern and then build off from it. The third example can be interpreted as a major pattern or minor.
Ex. 1
 Listen
Ex. 2
 Listen
Ex. 3
 Listen